Deleting Historical Part Notes

In as much as part notes are “historical”, they are not meant to be deleted. However, from time to time you may have a legitimate need to “delete” a historical part note. We’ve made provision for users with “manager” privileges to be able to delete a part note. The flashing “/PT” in the lower right side of the screen indicates there is a part note associated with this item. The date of the last part note is also indicated in the flashing message.

Type “/PT” and press <enter> to display the all part notes for the item being displayed.

If a part note contains erroneous information or was entered on the wrong item then users with manager privileges have option “D” to delete the note. Type “D” and press <enter>. The “D” option will not be displayed for users without manager privileges.

If multiple part notes exist on an item then identify the part note you want to delete. Type the part notes logical record number and press <enter>. The logical record number is found in the part note text to the right of the date and time stamp.

Leave a Reply